Holger Weber - Soul Jazz Lab (CD) (5871772631193)

Holger Weber - Soul Jazz Lab (CD)


Regular price €14,95
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Soul jazz is the red-haired stepchild of modern jazz. He is the music of the organ bands. It's funky, loud, sometimes sentimental, the forgotten pop music of black post-war America. "Soul Jazz Lab" is a groovy homage to the organ combos of the 1960s, when hard-swinging bands like Brother Jack McDuff and Jimmy Smith ruled the Chitlin' circuit with their gospel-soaked soul jazz.
"Soul Jazz Lab" are: Holger Weber (guitar), Max Blumentrath (Hammond) and Alex Lex (drums). Guests include Wim Wollner on saxophone and the great singer Angela Brown.
About the musicians:
Guitarist Holger Weber was born in Heidelberg. He studied jazz guitar at the Hilversum Conservatory with Wim Overgaauw and Jesse van Rull, among others. He has lived and worked in Dortmund since 1997 as a much sought-after musician and lecturer.
Max Blumentrath is a Hammond organist and pianist and lives in Cologne. He was most recently a student of Matthias Bätzel at the Carl Maria von Weber Music Academy in Dresden. In the summer of 2012 he successfully completed his master's degree in Hammond organ.
Drummer Alex Lex is one of the most sought-after drummers in the German blues scene. He has been attending many sessions regularly since he was thirteen and quickly made a name for himself in the local blues and jazz scene. He plays his grooves with great intensity, but at the same time unusually calm and tasteful.

01 These Are Soulful Days
02 Polka Dots And Moonbeams
03 Que baby
04 Speak Low
05 Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
06 Jucy Lucy
07 Don't Take Your Love From Me