Sleepwalker’s Station - Lorca (12" Vinyl-Album) (5871768633497)

Sleepwalker's Station - Lorca (12" vinyl album)


Regular price €20,00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The new album by the Italo-German-Spanish collective, recorded with over 20 musicians from all over Europe, is as colorful and different as the line-up of the band. The genre spectrum ranges from chanson to tango to alpine songwriters, without losing a certain folk core. Lorca is the title of the sixth album by songwriter Daniel del Valle & Co. and includes 14 songs in five languages ​​and four dialects that tell of journeys through the Andes, of people, cities and roads, of migration and Lake Garda.
The album is not only linguistically but also musically an adventure full of coloring from different cultures and styles. In the indie folk of the European collective on Lorca we find nuances of Argentine tango, Andalusian flamenco, Franco-Belgian chansons, Viennese waltzes mixed with reggae rhythms, Italian hip hop and Austro-Bavarian songwriter tradition. And yet all these colourful, so diverse-looking mosaics fit together harmoniously like the leaves of a tree in autumn when they cover the ground with their colorful dress. For example, a song starts like the score for Amélie, with an accordion and harmonium, followed by a violin, then a cello; More and more instruments are pouring in until all of a sudden and unexpectedly the waves calm down and the storm dies down and everything falls silent before the strings of a Spanish guitar strike up “Hacia Marte” energetically with Iberian temperament! Ole!
But the first real surprise comes when trombone, saxophone and trumpet enter in a reggae rhythm in "Rue du Bourg", to which cello, violin, bowed double bass and clarinet respond in waltz time. Here at the latest you get the feeling of hearing and experiencing something unique. For three years the band worked together with a total of 20 musicians from all over Europe. There was also an Icelandic singer, a flamenco gypsy from Jerez de la Frontera and a rapper from Milan. The choice of language and dialect reflects the roots and identity of the individual band members: in addition to Spanish, Italian, German, French and English, Catalan, Bavarian, Venetian and Andalusian also appear. The album was mixed by Calexico sound engineer Craig Schumacher in Arizona and then at the renowned JJ. Mastered by Golden Studios in California.

01 Wandering People
02 Hacia Marte
03 Rue du Bourg
04 Uno Di Noi
05 Winter In Berlin

06 La Valse
07 Si J'Etais
08 De Molinos Y Gigantes
09 Tucuman
10 on the way