The Spam - Same Same (CD) (5871779676313)

The Spam - Same Same (CD)


Regular price €14,95
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

The trio found themselves at the beginning of 2016 via detours of various formations in the heart of the Ruhr area. The Spam is the musical performance of each of the three instrumentalists and composers for a piano trio. There is not one mastermind here. Each member composes for the trio from their own personal musical experience. Thus, imaginative, progressive and intensive soundscapes are created in the collaboration. The interaction of the musicians effortlessly combines jazz, jungle, funk and soul as well as elements from Afro and minimal music. The listener is sometimes reminded of the early days of the Esbjörn Svensson Trio, sometimes of Philip Glass and sometimes of Fela Kuti. And yet The Spam find their own sound, honest and original. About the musicians: Oliver Schroer studied church music in Essen and Düsseldorf and completed a jazz course in Dortmund. As a concert organist, the Bochum native has been playing together with the Cologne jazz trumpeter Matthias Bergmann for several years and leads his own quartet (Quadrant) as a pianist, with whom he released the CD "Steps & Stairs" in 2014. Born in Herne, bassist Patric Siewert studied jazz at the ArtEZ University of the Arts in Enschede from 2003 to 2007, majoring in electric bass. In 2006 he won first prize at the International Ensemble and Soloist Contest in Kerkrade and has been an endorser for Bassline and Markbass for several years. Patric Siewert has now released three CDs under his own name. Wilm Flinks studied jazz and popular music at the ArtEZ University of the Arts in Enschede from 2004 to 2009. The drummer, who lives in Münster, has a wide range of musical interests and is active in a wide variety of formations. Although mainly on the road in jazz, he also received prizes for the best song of the year and the best pop band at the German Rock and Pop Prize in 2012 with two different formations.

01 Up&Down
02 Life Is A Tale (Told By An Idiot)
03 tribute
04 seed seed
05 Simple As That
06 come down
07 Movin' In Movin' Out
08 Trust
09 Jun